Ryan Giggs named in top 10 best ever Champions League players

Manchester United’s Ryan Giggs has been announced as the sixth best player in Champions League history, according to the tournament’s official magazine.

The Welshman is the top Brit in the list of 50 that sees Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard in tenth, with former United players Paul Scholes and David Beckham also featuring in the top 20.

Giggs who lifted the trophy in 1999 and 2008 is the tournament’s oldest goal scorer and has scored in more seasons than any other player.

Topping the pile is Zinedine Zidane, whose volley for Real Madrid in the 2002 final will be remembered as one of the competition’s greatest ever goals.

Lionel Messi, two-time winner with Barcelona, follows in second place with Paolo Maldini, Xavi and Raul, the Champions League’s record goal scorer with 71, rounding up the top five.

Further down the order, Wayne Rooney (27) and Roy Keane (39) also appear for United with Chelsea’s Frank Lampard featuring at 48.

The Top 50 Players

01. Zinedine Zidane
02. Lionel Messi
03. Paolo Maldini
04. Xavi
05. Raul
06. Ryan Giggs
07. Clarence Seedorf
08. Luis Figo
09. Samuel Eto'o
10. Steven Gerrard
11. Andres Iniesta
12. Oliver Kahn
13. Andriy Shevchenko
14. Paul Scholes
15. Javier Zanetti
16. Alessandro Del Piero
17. Iker Casillas
18. David Beckham
19. Thierry Henry
20. Ronaldo
21. Carlos Puyol
22. Edwin van der Sar
23. Andrea Pirlo
24. Didier Deschamps
25. Alessandro Nesta
26. Fernando Redondo
27. Wayne Rooney
28. Frank Rijkaard
29. Kaka
30. Cristiano Ronaldo
31. Ruud van Nistelrooy
32. Roberto Carlos
33. Marcel Desailly
34. Jari Litmanen
35. Peter Schmeichel
36. Flippo Inzaghi
37. Dejan Savicevic
38. Gaizka Mendieta
39. Roy Keane
40. Claude Makelele
41. Fernando Hierro
42. Edgar Davids
43. Gianluigi Buffon
44. Stefan Effenberg
45. Ronaldinho
46. Deco
47. Lothar Matthaus
48. Frank Lampard
49. Fernando Morientes
50. Paulo Sousa