Manchester United confirm Champions League squad

United's Champions League squad for the knockout stages of the competition has been confirmed today.

The Reds were required to submit a senior list of up to 25 players to UEFA on Tuesday. Clubs can also name an unlimited number of qualifying players on a 'B' list, which includes players born on or after 1 January 1989 who have given at least two years' continued service to the club after their 15th birthday. Rafael and Fabio, for example, both make United's 'B' list.

Sir Alex Ferguson's men take on Marseille in the first knockout round later this month, with a first-leg visit to Stade Velodrome on Wednesday 23 February, followed by the return tie at Old Trafford on Tuesday 15 March.

The full squad, including shirt numbers, registered by the club with UEFA is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Van der Sar (1), Kuszczak (29), Lindegaard (34); Defenders: Evra (3), Ferdinand(5), Brown W (6), Smalling (12), Vidic (15), Fabio* (20), Rafael* (21), O'Shea (22), Evans J (23), Gill* (45); Midfielders: Anderson (8), Giggs (11), Park (13), Carrick (16), Nani (17), Scholes (18), Fletcher (24), Valencia (25), Gibson (28), Norwood* (47); Forwards: Owen (7), Berbatov (9), Rooney (10), Hernandez (14), Obertan (26), Bebe (33), King* (41), Keane W* (48).

*Players who qualify for the 'B' list.